GRAND RAPIDS — Lake Country Power is pleased to announce 30 local high school seniors from 30 different schools have been awarded the Lake Country Power 2019 Les Beach Memorial Scholarship. The Les Beach Memorial Scholarship honors a former co-op employee and recognizes student commitment and contribution to local communities.

The $4,000 scholarships, issued at $500 per semester for four years, will help the following graduating seniors pursue their college plans and career dreams:

Jessica Schatz: Barnum School

Alena Wallin: Carlton School

Mariah Ortiz: Cass-Lake-Bena School

Paige Chadwick: Cherry School

Lucy Lindstrom: Chisholm School

Kaylee Anderson: Cloquet School

Madisyn Anderson: Cromwell-Wright School

Frank Villeneuve: Deer River School

Shane Spangler: Ely-Memorial Secondary School

Samantha Stueber: Esko School

Jacee Zasadni: Eveleth-Gilbert School

Wyatt Rauvola: Floodwood School

Makenzie Birkey: Grand Rapids School

Rose Carpenter: Greenway-Coleraine School

Sara Furlong: Hibbing School

Taya Gilmer: Hill City School

Grace Anderson: McGregor Secondary School

Carson Becicka: Mesabi East School

Charis Blacklock: Moose Lake School

Macy Savela: Mountain Iron-Buhl School

Anna Trip: North Woods School

Sophie Lenz: Northeast Range High School

Beau Anwiler: Northern Lights Community School

Taylor Tschida: Northland-Remer School

Samantha Mullvain: Proctor School

Elias Tuominen: South Ridge School

Dawson Flatley: Virginia School

Amelia Emery: Walker-Hackensack-Akeley School

Taylor Peck: At Large category

Kaitlyn Graf: Home school

The Les Beach Memorial Scholarship is available to local students from more than 30 area high schools. Qualified students must be co-op members through their parents or legal guardians who receive electricity services from Lake Country Power.

The electronic application process for high school seniors will open again, January 1, 2020, when qualifying high school seniors may apply for the next round. The online application is available from the cooperative’s website.

The Les Beach Memorial Scholarship is made possible through unclaimed capital credits. The State of Minnesota permits electric cooperatives like Lake Country Power to use unclaimed funds for charitable purposes, such as scholarships.

Lake Country Power also offers $1,000 scholarships to five area community college foundations and three Minnesota lineworker schools to support students in trade schools and community/technical college programs. Applications for these scholarships are available directly through the colleges.


Recommended for you

Load comments